Treating Oneself

I try to be… let’s say ‘prudent’ about my book-buying habits, on account of bills and of living in a small flat with limited shelf space. However, I did recently suffer a birthday, so I decided to treat myself and bought a lot of books at once. They include the following:

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer – This was a recommendation from a friend with excellent taste. I don’t usually go for science fiction/horror, but this does sound intriguing: a small expedition, the twelfth in a line of catastrophic failures, ventures into Area X, a disaster zone turned Edenic wilderness. I’ve been told the book can be both beautiful and VERY disturbing. If it gives me nightmares, I’ll be sure to let you know.

Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming – I must admit that I only really know Cumming as Eli Gold from The Good Wife, which feels like an oversight, because in every interview I’ve read he seems utterly lovely. ‘Not My Father’s Son’ is his recollection of a traumatic childhood, and an investigation of his family history. One for my non-fiction project.

The Night Watch by Sergei Lukyanenko – Another recommendation from another friend, who has been encouraging me to read this for at least a year now.  He described it to me as J.K. Rowling meets the Cold War, so of COURSE I’m interested. Bring on the magic, and the Russia.

Twelve Kings by Bradley  Beaulieu – This was something of a wild-card pick. The cover and key concepts (a fantasy realm, an assassin, a tyrannical king/s) remind me of the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, which I’ve never quite felt interest in. However, this book I think is for a slightly older readership, and may go darker places. Keep an eye out for a review.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – I’m about half way through Novik’s Temeraire series, which I ADORE; I also love fairytale retellings, which I’ve read this isn’t precisely (although there are echoes of Beauty and the Beast), but never mind – I was thrilled to get my hands on this.

My only problem now (besides where to put them) is deciding which book to read first. Suggestions welcome.

Leave a Reply

