Is It That Time Already?

Is it really almost Christmas? I’m not sure what happened to the second half of 2016. Last I checked it was still August – now I’m staring down a week of retail madness, humming carols absentmindedly  and trying to work out where I hid the wrapping paper.

Which I guess means it’s time for a 2016 wrap-up. It’s been a big year. I migrated from one bookshop to another. My radio show, 4ZZZ Book Club, made its final broadcast. I started this blog. In non-bookish life, I had my sinuses operated on and danced my first showcase. In between all that, I read at least 50 books.

Here are handful of my favourites. Most of these I have written about, some quite recently, but they are worth revisiting!

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley – I was completely charmed by this tale of love, loss, and a second-hand bookshop. Gorgeously written and emotionally hard-hitting #OzYA.

words-in-deep-blue

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – Perhaps my favourite of this year’s favourites: a YA thriller set in an alternate post-WWII Europe ruled by the Axis powers. It was such a perfect combination of structure, story, and character that at the end I kept turning pages in search of more.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – Another beautifully constructed book. A village girl is conscripted by a reclusive sorcerer in his battle against a hungry and corrupting Wood. There is fantasy, and fairytale, and horror. Just read it.

uprooted

Do No Harm by Henry Marsh – I started reading nonfiction again this year. Nothing moved and fascinated me quite so much as this, the memoirs of a neurosurgeon. We are such fragile and mysterious creatures. This book left me feeling awed.

Now, I must to bed! A full week of bookselling lies ahead. Wish me luck. For you, I wish happy reading over your Christmases. See you on the other side.
Leave a Reply

