The ‘I Dare You’ Book Tag (Part 1)

I spotted this on the blog of Kristy @ TheReaderDragon, and figured I’d give it a whirl. I’ve decided to split it across two posts – so you’ll hear from me twice this week (a nice change from once a fortnight, yes?).

RULES

  • You must be honest
  • You must answer all questions
  • You have to tag at least four people.

Here goes!

What book has been on your shelves the longest?

If we’re speaking generally: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, which I was given for my ninth birthday and has been on my bookshelves ever since. If we’re speaking about books unread: The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton, which I bought in 2013 after it won the Man Booker Prize. I am genuinely keen to read it, but my copy is HUGE and I’ve so many other books to read…

What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

Currently I’m reading Wormwood Mire, the second Stella Montgomery Intrigue, by Judith Rossell. It’s a little slow going but still very sweet, with a touch of Gothic mystery. Before this, I was reading The Golden Child by  Wendy James (Lianne Moriarty meets My Sister Rosa). Next will depend on my mood… I’ve read a lot of fantasy so far this year, so it’s time for a change. I’m also overdue for non-fiction; if I’m good, I’ll pick up Magda Szubanski’s Reckoning, or Walking Free by Munjed Al Munderis.
wormwood-mire

What book did everyone like, but you hated?

While I wouldn’t say I hated it, Divergent just didn’t do anything for me. I didn’t buy into the world concept (a bad start), didn’t feel the Tris-Four relationship, and thought it was all a bit predictable.

What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you’ll probably won’t?

Not one specifically, but I always intend to check out the big prize winners, and rarely do. They tend to be books I feel I OUGHT to read, rather than actually want to read.

Which book are you saving for retirement?

At this rate, ‘The Luminaries’! Or All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr. Both are big books that need more time than I’m able to give them right now.
all-the-light-we-cannot-see

Last page: read it first, or wait till the end?

Wait, of course! One of my best friends reads the last page first, and I do NOT understand why – I’d much rather be surprised.

Acknowledgement: waste of ink and paper, or interesting aside?

Interesting aside. I’m interested particularly when authors thank other authors. You get to know which ones are friends!

Which book character would you swap places with?

Irene from The Invisible Library series by Genevieve Cogman. I’d get to work for a multi-dimensional Library, have the ability to perform magic with a secret Language, and brush shoulders with dragons and Fae and gentlemen detectives.

Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time?)

 The Farthest Away Mountain by Lynne Reid Banks. This was lent to me in primary school by a teacher I adored, who encouraged me to read and to write stories, and taught my class about Greek mythology and I think also how to play chess. My sisters tracked down a copy for me some years ago, with difficulty. I think he’d be pleased with how I turned out.
 the-farthest-away-mountain
***

Part 2 coming soon. Catch you then.

One thought on “The ‘I Dare You’ Book Tag (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

