The ‘I Dare You’ Book Tag (Part 2)

Here be the second half of my ‘I Dare You To’ tag. Later than promised, I know. Your thoughts as always are appreciated.

Name book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I purchased a Game of Thrones box-set from one of my customers, does that count? An elderly lady confided that she had been gifted a set and it was NOT her cup of tea, so I offered to take it off her hands.

Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

 If I want to share a book, I’d rather lend it or gift a new copy.

Which book has been with you to the most places?

 My copy of ‘Peter Pan’ went with me to the UK a few years back. Most of my books do a bit of travelling, due to a long commute. I do most of my reading public transport – good thing I don’t suffer motion sickness – although this ruins my covers if I’m not careful!

Any ‘required reading’ you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I avoided the classics in high school as a general rule. Approximately two years later I read a bunch of them (‘Great Expectations’, ‘Wuthering Heights’, ‘Pride and Prejudice’) for university and enjoyed them very much. Still can’t stand ‘Gulliver’s Travels’, though.

What is the strangest thing you’ve found in a book?

 The other week I found a receipt from the WHSmith bookshop in Bexleyheath, dated 2001. Not a terribly strange item, but I do live in Australia so it’s travelled a long way!

Used or brand new?

 New. Working in a bookshop has spoiled me: while I do buy secondhand, I prefer the look, feel, and ownership of new books.

Have you read any Dan Brown novels?

Three. My sisters and I were gifted ‘The Da Vinci Code’, ‘Deception Point’, and ‘Digital Fortress’ during high school. I read everything then. I remember very little about them, though, so they didn’t make much of an impression.

A book that NEVER should have been published?

I’m not saying this shouldn’t have been published, but I think Veronica Roth’s Allegiant was published before it was ready. To be honest, I’ve not read the book, but I feel it’s a bad idea to write out a series’ main protagonist in the final instalment, especially when they’ve been the sole narrator until then. From the sound of it, everyone (editorially, I mean) was very supportive – but it just doesn’t make sense to me.
 

Have you ever seen a movie that you liked more than the book?

I don’t remember enjoying ‘The Princess Bride’ by William Gold, but I do love the movie. Is this inconceivable?
 princess-bride

Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks excluded?

 Not that I recall. Although, Mrs Weasley’s cooking sounds pretty good.

Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

I have a university friend who has very good taste and is always keen to swap recommendations with me. I’ll return to the Southern Reach books, I promise.

TAGS

I’m… going to be anti-social and break the rule on this one.

Until next time–

 

Leave a Reply

