February Wrap Up

I’ve had a fairly successful and unexpectedly varied reading month. The highlight was my venture into zombie fiction, prompted by my boyfriend’s replay of ‘The Last of Us’. This is NOT my usual genre (I tend toward squeamishness) but I’m a sucker for high stakes narratives and am enjoying my findings so far.

Full February reading list as follows:

A Few Right Thinking Men by Sulari Gentill – I picked this up at Bookfest, on account of the stylish cover and a nagging sense that I should read more crime fiction.  Everyone, meet Rowland Sinclair, gentleman artist and fledgling detective in Depression-era Sydney. I enjoyed Gentill’s uncommon take on the genre and also her wry humour.

Feed by Mira Grant – Post-zombie apocalypse meets blogging meets the American presidential election. Need I say more?

The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman – I adore this series (world-hopping librarian spies – kinda my dream job), and had been hanging out for this, the third instalment. Some bits I really liked, and some bits I liked not so much. But! It looks as though there is more to come.

the-burning-page

The Fifth Letter by Nicola Moriarty – Four women on a holiday weekend decide to recapture their schoolgirl intimacy, by each sharing a secret in an anonymous letter. I was caught up by the fast-paced, almost thriller-ish drama, but left sour by what felt like a ‘worst case’ rendition of women’s friendships.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – This was recommended to me by both of my sisters a few years back. I loved the idea (a novel told in letters) and the setting (post-War London and the Channel Islands) but a few pages in  was thinking it was all a bit sickly sweet and that I was going to have to tell the siblings they’d made a mistake… I persisted, though, and found myself charmed and unexpectedly moved.

World War Z by Max Brooks – I understand that this is THE zombie book, so couldn’t pass it by. This author’s version of the undead apocalypse was by far the more terrifying, and the book’s short account-style format allows him to show us all the awful facets. Ultimately, I think I preferred ‘Feed’, because I could invest more in the characters, but for scare and thoroughness, this one’s a winner.

Wormwood Mire by Judith Rossell – This picks up not quite where ‘Withering-by-Sea’ left off: Stella, in disgrace, has been sent to live with her cousins and their governess in a falling-down manor in Wormwood Mire. There are new mysteries to unravel and new dangers to face, including a nefarious serpent-like creature, and Mr Flint, collector of curiosities and extractor of teeth. As gorgeous as the original in every way.

Leave a Reply

