Here be Dragons

I’ve been reading a fair number of books involving dragons lately. I like dragons as a general rule; they’ve been wyrming (see what I did there?) in and out of my reading since childhood. Early encounters included The Hobbit, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, and Harry Potter, but I feel as though there were others…

Anyway, here be dragons: a selection of books, for your enjoyment.

‘Dragonology’ – I received this for Christmas when I was about 12, and it immediately became my FAVOURITE THING. There were sketches and species profiles and pull-out bits, collated by the (sadly fictitious) veteran adventurer Dr Ernest Drake. It kept me entertained for the entire summer and beyond.

Dragonology

Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffery – My sisters and I were lent some of these when we were 9 or 10 (I think), which sparked an interest in her books that lasted into my teens. I was a LITTLE confused when my dragon series turned out to have spaceships, too, but I was reading Star Wars novels then as well , so this was no biggie. Even so, I liked the Harper books best, and ‘Dragonsong’ – about the musically gifted runaway, Menolly, and her fire lizards – was my favourite. A must-read series for any dragon fan.

Eon by Alison Goodman – I read this under its original (Australian) title, ‘The Two Pearls of Wisdom’. It chronicles Eon/Eona’s desperate fight to become a Dragoneye – a dragon’s apprentice and conduit for its power – while concealing her gender and navigating treacherous court intrigues. The world draws strongly on Chinese astrology and Feng Shui; at the time I hadn’t read anything like it. I should find my copy and finish the series!

Memoirs of Lady Trent series by Marie Brennan – I spotted A Natural History of Dragons at the airport and knew I had to have it (just look at that cover). Set in a pseudo-British Empire, it follows the exploits of a young Lady Trent, embarking on her career – against social expectations, of course – as a dragon naturalist. Fun, wryly written historical fantasy.

A Natural History of Dragons

Temeraire series by Naomi Novik – I’ve been reading these for just over a year  now. Dragons in the Napoleonic Wars? Yes, please! Temeraire is adorable, and his relationship with his rider, Captain Lawrence, is very sweet. While the quality has been somewhat patchy (Books 1 and 5 were excellent, Book 6 less so), I am sticking with this series until the end.

What are your favourite dragon books?

6 thoughts on “Here be Dragons

  1. I have that some Dragonology book! I saw it at the book shop, until that moment I didn’t realise I needed but I did! Awesome post. The Earthsea Trilogy is one of my favourite classic dragon tales

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man! I’m so sad that I haven’t heard about most of these (Except for Marie Brennan), my favourite dragon book would be The Hobbit and the goblet of fire but I’ve only read one series with a sole focus on dragons and that’s Upon dragons breath.

    I would absolutely love it if you could check out my review of the “Upon dragons breath” trilogy by Ava Richardson:
    https://ravenandbeez.wordpress.com/2017/06/18/hey-kid-you-want-some-dragons-upon-dragons-breath-by-ava-richardson-spoiler-free-trilogy-review/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

