Milk Tea Tag

I am a big tea person, so when I spotted this on Tea & Titles, I couldn’t resist. This tag was originally created by Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout. I’ve made myself a cup, so here goes…

Tea: The foundation of your reading life

Always, my answer will be Peter Pan. I’ve said on this blog before that ‘Peter Pan’ is my earliest reading memory. I love that I can enjoy it as a child and as an adult, for different reasons; I love its dark edges. It will always have a place on my shelves.

Milk: A rich, smooth book

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is such a sensual book. Everything is so beautifully described. The Circus, with its many magicks, is the stuff of dreams. The richness of Morgenstern’s imagery enchants me every time.

night-circus

Sugar: A book you love that is controversial

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I was worried when I picked this up, having seen poor reviews, but I loved it. I think the problem was with the marketing: the book was really the prequel to what is described on the blurb. It wasn’t what I expected, but I was surprised in the best possible way.

Ice: A book just for fun

Squire by Tamora Pierce – I have a real soft spot for Pierce’s books. I read and reread them devotedly aged 10-15, and  still have my battered copies to prove it! The Keladry books were my favourite series, and ‘Squire’ the favourite of the lot. It takes me right back to my childhood.

Silk stocking: A book that’s much better than it sounds

Working Stiff by Judy Melinek and TJ Mitchell. One for my non-fiction project: the memoirs of a forensic pathologist. It’s VERY fascinating, although not (as you’d rightly expect) for the squeamish.

Yinyang: A book with foreign influence

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave was inspired by the author’s trip to the Canary Islands, more specifically by their lava tubes and a local myth about a malevolent volcano spirit. It’s an uncommonly dark children’s novel with a bittersweet ending, which ticked so many boxes for me. It’s also gorgeous. A must-read.

Girl-of-Ink-Stars

One thought on “Milk Tea Tag

Leave a Reply

