Other People’s Bookcases 1

I thought it would be nice to get somebody else on here. Also, I’m terribly nosey, and at present a little short on blogging ideas. Therefore, I present to you my Other People’s Bookcases feature: The Boyfriend Edition (roughly paraphrased).

What’s your favourite book?

Moby Dick by Herman Melville.

moby-dick-vintage

…Why?

Because it’s an interesting look at the history of the time, and an interesting morality tale. I also like Melville’s writing, particularly the passages describing Ahab’s insanity.

Your favourite author is?

Terry Pratchett. I started reading his books when I was 10 – I think the first was Sourcery. My favourite is Small Gods. I like them because they are clever, satirical, and very funny (although they’ve ruined me for serious fantasy).

What are you currently reading?

I’m on to the final book in Stephen King’s Dark Tower series (The Dark Tower). I’m worried for the characters… pretty sure it’s not going to end well for anyone. But I’m expecting to enjoy it.

the-dark-tower

Tell me a bookish memory.

I remember my Dad reading me the Just William series (Richmal Crompton) at bedtime.

Do you have a bookish peeve?

…I dislike Mary Sues. There seem to be a lot of them around.

What was the last book you bought?

Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson – a history of and guide to the English language. Fantastic and engaging, as Bryson always is.

mother-tongue

Thank-you x

Leave a Reply

